FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT OUR BOATING EDUCATION COURSE

Safe Boating Certificate, Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation (PWC) & Safe Waterskiing Endorsement

WHO needs this course?

Our Boating Course is required by the State of Connecticut for all new boat owners and anyone who plans to operate a motorized vessel or a sailboat 19 1/2 feet or longer who:

  • Is a resident of Connecticut
  • Is an Owner of property in Connecticut
  • Plans to operate a vessel on Connecticut Waters for more than 60 days a year

WHAT will I learn?

Some of the topics include:

  • The Boat: Dimentions, Terms, & Design
  • Boating Equipment Requirements
  • Trip Planning and Preparation
  • Safe Boat Operation
  • Navigational Rules of the Water
  • Personal Watercraft, Jet Ski Operation
  • Safe Waterskiing Practices
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Emily’s Law and much more

WHY take this course?

Connecticut Boating Certificates provides this course to:

  • Dramatically increase safe practices while boating
  • Put you in the best position to pass the final Boaters Exam Connecticut DEEP urges Families & Friends to take this course
  • So there are multiple operators on board
  • So the entire family is prepared for emergency situations.

WHAT else do I get?

  • An 80 page color Student Course Booklet

At sign-up you are given private access to the Helm which includes:

  • All the supplemental materials referenced at your class
  • Thousands of pages of information such as books, articles, memos, and pictures
  • Some of the slides you saw at class
  • Digital charts of Long Island Sound and much, much more!
  • You’ll also find the current years Connecticut Boaters Guide and if you’d like, you can read it to prepare for your class.

How long does the boating course actually take?

The Boating Course takes approximately 7 hrs with a 1 hr window left for taking of the Boater Exam

How old do you have to be to drive a boat in Connecticut?

You can get this license at 10 years old. 10-11-year-old operators can solo on a boat if the motor is less than 10 horsepower. 10-11-year-old operators can take the helm, steer and operate the throttle, but must be accompanied by an adult who is 18 or older and has had a license for at least two years. An individual with the license who is 12 years old my solo on a boat.

What are the age restrictions for your PWC Boating & Vessel Boating License?

Very frequently asked question…So here you go:  You can get the license at 10 years old, you can solo on a boat at 12 years old with no limitations.  You can solo at 10 or 11 years old as long as the boat has a motor of less than 10 horsepower.  You can operate the boat at 10 or 11 years old with a motor greater than 9.9 horsepower as long as you are supervised by someone 18 or older who also has their Safe Boating Certificate.  You must be 12 to be a Water Ski or Inflatable Rider Observer on both a boat and a jet ski.  You must be 16 to tow any skier or inflatable on either a boat or jet ski and you must be 16 to solo on a jet ski.  10-15 years of age can operate the Jet Ski but must be accompanied by someone who is 18 years or older who has their Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation and is on the jet ski with them.

How hard is the Boater Exam?

The Boaters Exam is detailed but if you stay focused during the class the chances of failing are nearly zero and you’ll be walking out of there with your Boat License!

I've heard that it is really not called a Boaters License?

Actually it is called a Boating Certificate although it is commonly referred to as a license.  Licenses have to be renewed and Certificates do not!  As we talk about it class, the Connecticut Boating Certificate is Good for LIFE!

What is the difference between the Safe Boating Certificate, the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation, and the Safe Waterskiing Endorsement?

Other than the name obviously, they are all combined into one class now.  The SBC section focuses on safe boating, The CPWO section focuses on the safe operation of PWC’s and the SWE section focuses on safely towing an inflatable or someone on skis.  The Three-Fold Certificate is now called your PWC certificate.  You get all three when you take the 1-Day Boaters Class.

How many questions are on the Boater Exam?

The Boater Exam is 60 Multiple Choice Questions and you need to get a grade of 80 or better which means you need to get 48 answers correct to get an 80 or on the other hand, you are allowed to get 12 answers wrong.  The Boaters Exam Sections are weighted.

What if I fail the Safe Boating Course Exam?

You will be afforded the time to go back and review your incorrect answers and change them before the end of class.  In all of our time in teaching this course we have had only a two students who couldn’t pass the Boater Exam.  That was due to an egregious lack of effort throughout the day.

Are there any visual slides during the training?

Yes, in fact the entire Boating Course is presented in a slide show format.  There are also other enhancements and practices used to mix it up. You’ll see slides containing just about everything from Jet Skis & “Fail” slides, to some pretty awesome Crafts & Waterscapes.

Do I need to bring anything?

No.  You are given a booklet for note taking notes and to keep for referencing at home.  At sign up you are given private access to the Helm that includes the entire set of Navigation Rules, digital Navigation Charts of the Long Island Sound, Federal & State boating related publications, and important forms that you may need as a boat owner, well over 1100 Pages!  You may want to bring lunch if you’d like… 🙂

Does the State of Connecticut charge for the Boating License?

Yes, the State of Connecticut Charges $50 for the boating license.  This is not included in the course fee of $75.  You pay the State of Connecticut Boat License fee separately once you pass the Boating Course.  Your Boat License will be an available option for you when you sign in using your Conservation ID number.

How often do I have to renew my Connecticut Boater License once I have it?

Your Boaters License is good for life.  You never have to renew it or pay another fee.  You can also print a duplicate whenever you’d like, again, free of charge

What if I can't make the Safe Boating Class after I paid for it?

Simply Contact Us and let us know if and when you can make another one.  Please be considerate and understand that we are filling our Safe Boating Classes ahead of time 24/7.  If you know in a reasonable amount of time, please let us know as well.  We understand that everyone has emergencies so don’t sweat it, we’ll work it out.

How do you get a boating license in CT?

The only way to get a Boating License in CT is by attending the 1-Day Course and Passing the Boaters Exam offered by an approved provider. All approved Connecticut license providers are sanctioned by NASBLA, The State of Connecticut’s Marine Headquarters Boating Division, The State of Connecticut’s DEEP, and must be recognized by the United States Coast Guard.

Do I have to retake the Boating Class if I don't have the Safe Waterski Endorsement?

Any one that has their SAFE BOATING CERTIFICATE or their combined SBC & CERTIFICATE OF PERSONAL WATERCRAFT OPERATION before October 1st, 2015, does not have to retake the course for the Safe Waterskiing Endorsement, you are grandfathered in. Anyone who has just a Safe Boating Certificate has two options,
1. They may retake the course and get their Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation and their Safe Waterskiing Endorsement OR
2. Take the Upgrade PWC class in Hartford which is solely focused on just the Personal Watercraft Certificate.

What is PWC Boating?

PWC boating is the same as Personal Watercraft Operation which is part of the certification process.  There are many terms and acronyms that are tossed around when it comes to Nautical information in general and PWC Boating is a perfect example of that.

Do I need a license to drive a boat in CT?

You need a Boaters License to drive any boat that is motorized regardless of its size or category. If it has a motor, it must be registered with the DMV and in order to register any boat in Connecticut, you’ll need to have the PWC number from your Boaters License.

Do you need a license to drive a jet ski in CT?

Yes, you need a Boaters License to operate any type of Personal Watercraft such as Jet Ski’s, Waverunners, Wet Bikes, etc.. Connecticut defines a Personal Watercraft as any jet driven vessel that someone sits on, stands on, kneels on with “on” is the keyword. Just like a boat, it must be registered with the DMV and in order to register any boat in Connecticut, you’ll need to have the PWC number from your Boaters License.

How do I get a safe boating certificate?

The only way to get a Safe Boating Certificate in CT is by attending the 1-Day Course and Passing the Boaters Exam offered by an approved provider. All approved Connecticut license providers are sanctioned by NASBLA, The State of Connecticut’s Marine Headquarters Boating Division, The State of Connecticut’s DEEP, and must be recognized by the United States Coast Guard.

What is a boating safety certificate?

The Safe Boating Certificate or the Boating Safety Certificate as some may call it was the original certificated that was issued at the inception of the Boating Program in Connecticut which was in the early ’90s. All the materials and curriculum from that program is now encompassed by the new three-pronged course only offered in Connecticut by an approved provider.

Do you need a license to drive a boat in MA?

Massachusetts states that if you have completed an approved NASBLA Boat Licensing Course you are good to boat on their waters. Connecticut does have a reciprocity agreement with those individuals who carry the Massachusetts Boaters License which means as a visiting licensed boater from Massachusetts you can boat upon our waters

Do u need a license to drive a boat?

You need a Boaters License to drive any boat that is motorized regardless of its size or category. If it has a motor, it must be registered with the DMV and in order to register any boat in Connecticut, you’ll need to have the PWC number from your Boaters License.

How do I get a boater's safety certificate?

The only way to get a Safe Boating Certificate in CT is by attending the 1-Day Course and Passing the Boaters Exam offered by an approved provider. All approved Connecticut license providers are sanctioned by NASBLA, The State of Connecticut’s Marine Headquarters Boating Division, The State of Connecticut’s DEEP, and must be recognized by the United States Coast Guard.

Is boat insurance required in CT?

Connecticut law does not require a boat owner to purchase or maintain liability insurance however It is so inexpensive for the coverage that everyone should have it. The financial institution principal in the contract may mandate that liability insurance be purchased during the terms of a loan established to purchase a boat. In 1987 there was one proposed bill (House Bill 5014) to require boaters liability insurance which would have required every owner of watercraft registered in Connecticut to maintain a minimum level of liability insurance coverage. Proposed by Representative Lockton (149th district), the bill was referred to the Insurance and Real Estate Committee but was not raised for consideration at a public hearing, therefore, no legislative history or public hearing testimony is available and no such bill is in place and or enforced at this time. Again it is so inexpensive for the coverage that EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE IT.

Do you need a boating license if you're over 18?

You need a Boaters License to drive any boat that is motorized regardless of its size or category. If it has a motor, it must be registered with the DMV and in order to register any boat in Connecticut, you’ll need to have the PWC number from your Boaters License.

How much is a boat safety certificate?

All providers are entitled to charge what they think is fair. Here at Connecticut Boating Certificates, we charge $75 per student at our Public Classes and we use a sliding scale for our Private Classes. Once you have taken the class there is a one-time fee due to the State of Connecticut for $50.00 and your license is instantly downloaded from the States web site.

How long does a boat safety certificate last?

Once earned, it is good for life!

How much does a boat license cost?

All providers are entitled to charge what they think is fair. Here at Connecticut Boating Certificates, we charge $75 per student at our Public Classes and we use a sliding scale for our Private Classes. Once you have taken the class there is a one-time fee due to the State of Connecticut for $50.00 and your license is instantly downloaded from the States web site.

Does Connecticut charge to get a Boating License?

Yes aside from the course fee, the State of Connecticut collects $50.00 as an administrative fee for the Boating License.

Can a Boaters Certificate or License from another state be used in CT?

Connecticut has a reciprocity agreement with Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Rhode Island. So visiting boaters from the aforementioned states are able to boat upon our waters.

What are the requirements to tow a water-skier in CT?

You must have a Boaters License and be 16 years old to tow any skier or inflatable device.

Can I take a CT Safe Boating Course online?

No. Connecticut only allows those who pass a proctored examination (done at an in-person class proctored by an approved provider)

How do I get my Boating Certificate in CT?

The only way to get a Boating License in CT is by attending the 1-Day Course and Passing the Boaters Exam offered by an approved provider. All approved Connecticut license providers are sanctioned by NASBLA, The State of Connecticut’s Marine Headquarters Boating Division, The State of Connecticut’s DEEP, and must be recognized by the United States Coast Guard.

What kind of refund am I entitled to, if I cancel my booking?

REFUND POLICY – At Connecticut Boating Certificates LLC we ask that you notify us of your cancellation at least 48 hours prior to your class to receive a full refund. Simply send an email or leave a voicemail (or both) so we have the electronic date and time stamp. If you DO NOT notify us of your cancellation at least 48 hours prior to your class and you miss your class, we will not issue a refund but you can apply 100% of your payment to a future class.